- Gluten Free Bread
- Beauty Can Kill: Gluten in Cosmetics
- Are You Allergic to Gluten? Here's How to Know for Sure!
- Delicious Gluten Free Desserts
- Do You Know Which Are the Gluten Foods to Avoid?
- Gluten Free Whole Grains for Energy
- Silly Misconceptions about Gluten
- Is Going Gluten-Free Wise?
- Gluten Free Diet for Vegans
- Super Whole Grains for Weight Loss
- Gluten Foods to Avoid
- Gluten Free Diet Foods
- The Gluten-Free Diet
- See More Articles
Do You Know Which Are the Gluten Foods to Avoid?
If you're gluten-sensitive or intolerant, you're going to have to hunt for those foods that contain the potentially harmful nutrient. I'm sad to say that a lot of your favorite foods are going to be on the list of things you're going to have to cut, but that's just a part of life.
For those with gluten problems, here are the gluten foods to watch out for:
Grains and Baked Goods
Pretty much all baked goods contain some form of wheat or grain that contains gluten, so you're going to have to basically cut baked goods from your diet. You can go to specialized bakeries and ask for gluten-free products, but anything you find in the supermarket will probably contain gluten - unless the packaging specifies otherwise.
Here are some of the most common gluten foods:
- Wheat bread, bread rolls, pizza dough, pretzels, muffins, cookies, and scones.
- Barley bread and bagels.
- Rye, rye bread, and pumpernickel.
- Bulgur wheat, couscous, spelt, durham, and Triticale.
- Cakes, sponge puddings, cheesecakes, shortbread, pancakes, crispbreads, and batter.
- Semonlina, breakfast cereals, All-bran, muesli, and crumpets.
- Dumplings, crumble toppings, anything breaded, pastry, pie crust, stuffings, and dressings.
- Noodles, pasta of any sort.
Wow, that's a lot of food that you can't eat anymore!
The good news is that most of these foods are made in the gluten-free variety, meaning you should be able to find all those noodles, pie crusts, breads, and snacks that you like. They won't taste as good as delicious wheat products, but they won't cause your body to freak out and suffer from the negative reaction that happens to the gluten-intolerant.
The Hidden Gluten Foods
The foods above are the ones that everyone knows contains gluten, but there are a few foods that count gluten as one of the "hidden" ingredients. Few people know that they contain gluten, but you'll find that your body will react violently when you eat these "hidden gluten foods".
Here are the hidden gluten foods to avoid:
- Sausages, lunch meat, pate, meat sauces, fish paste, self-basting turkeys, imitation crab meat, beef burgers, and hydrolyzed vegetable protein.
- Gravy powder, browning, soups, soup stock cubes, white pepper, and curry powder.
- Farina, seitan, licorice, some lipsticks, and communion wafers.
- Brown rice syrup, soy sauce, chutneys, pickles, sauces, mustards, salad dressings, malt vinegar, and baked beans.
- Some supplements and medications.
- Matzo flour, matzo meal, cheap chocolate, liquid chocolate, some toothpastes, hard candies, instant coffee, and potato chips.
- Blue cheese, shredded suet, and play dough.
Darn, that's a lot more foods that need to be taken off the list of "edible" for you! These gluten foods contain only very small traces of the protein, but they can be harmful for those that are completely gluten intolerant. If you have a celiac disorder, it's best to stay away from these foods altogether. If your problem is a non-celiac gluten sensitivity, you may find that some of the foods won't affect you too strongly!
Oats: Will They or Won't They?
You notice that "breakfast cereals" are on the lists of gluten foods to avoid, but oats aren't necessarily a gluten-rich grain. In fact, pure oats don't contain any gluten at all, but breakfast cereals that are mixed with other grains and wheat may have gluten in it.
Oatmeal is also risky because of cross-contamination. Often, the machines that are used to hull the oats are also used to hull the grains of wheat, barley, rye, and all the other grains that contain gluten. You eat oatmeal and oats at your own risk, but it's not one of the official gluten foods to avoid.